Missisquoi Historical Society

  • Français

  • Missisquoi Historical Society


    Our Mission


    The Missisquoi Historical Society is dedicated to the preservation, education, interpretation and presentation of the history of Missisquoi County.


    Our History


    In spite of drifting snow and severe cold, thirty-nine people gathered on a January morning in 1960 at the Bedford High School to discuss the revitalization of the dormant Missisquoi Historical Society. Founded in 1899, the Society was active until the beginning of World War I and while not dissolved, it became idle for nearly 50 years. Interest to revive the sleeping historical society began at the Cowansville Community School in the history classes offered by Marion Phelps and Gerald Hawke.

    Strengthened by a renewed commitment from community volunteers, a new bilingual constitution restated the Missisquoi Historical Society’s dedication to preserve its local history. By the autumn of 1961, a temporary museum was established in a school house in Dunham, Quebec and the Society published its sixth annual and illustrated report. The Missisquoi County Museum was opened officially by Kenneth Baker Q.C. of Montreal in October 1962.

    The vision of the first board of directors was to collect objects and documents pertaining to all history relating to Missisquoi County and in particular to the Loyalist settlement history and the early families that farmed and settled the county in the 18th and 19th centuries. Fittingly then, the first object given to the Museum and assigned a catalogue number was a late 18th century threshing flail donated by Foster Wightman in June 1964.



    Our Administration


    The Missisquoi Historical Society is administered by a board of directors elected at its annual general meeting. The board holds monthly meetings; it is made up of members from the local communities.

    President: François Reid

    Vice-president: Brendan O’Donnell

    Treasurer: Donna Butler

    Secretary: Marc Grenon

    Directors: Suzanne Dubé, Bill Evans, Grace Getty, Marthe Lanctôt, Guy Paquin


    Our Affiliations


    Canadian Museums Association

    Centre de conservation du Québec

    CLD Brome-Missisquoi

    La Fédération Histoire Québec

    La Société des musées du Québec

    The Eastern Townships Resource Centre

    The Quebec Anglophone Heritage Network

    Tourism Brome-Missisquoi (Eastern Townships)


    Our Supporters

    The museum would like to thank the following organizations for their financial support


    Department of Canadian Heritage

    Ministère de la Culture et des Communications

    Young Canada Works in Heritage Organizations

    Service Canada

    Jean Rich Foundation

    Municipality of Stanbridge East

    Municipality of St. Ignace-de-Stanbridge

    Municipality of Bedford

    Municipality of St. Armand

    Municipality of Dunham

    Municiplaity of Pike River

    Bélanger-Gardner Foundation

    CLD Brome-Missisquoi

    Caisse Desjardins de Bedford

    MRC Brome-Missisquoi

    MRC Brome-Missisquoi Pacte Rural

    Townshippers Research & Cultural Foundation

    Design Web HA Design© 2016
    Responsive Menu Clicked Image